Author Topic: RCX Discussion -Read 1st and 2nd Post- The development of RCX has ended  (Read 524507 times)

Offline Uyuni

  • Luv puppies!
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1028
    • View Profile
EDIT: Discuss RCX here, including configuration and troubleshooting! Discussion of the groupie feature is not allowed.
 
Anything you want to be added to first post send me a PM.
Improvements and/or updates to this first post are always welcome.

Basically RCX is broken and will be not fixed (at least does not work correctly for iRO Renewal), developer Redchat suggest most of the features of RCX are already being developed by kRO dev team.

Quote
Note: The development and maintenance of the RCX has ended.

From http://jbbs.livedoor.jp/computer/42078/ (Google translate)

4 Name: Redchat ★ (Sun) 2013/01/06 15:47:41 ID:: Post Date?? 0
932-933 >>
RCX is who I no longer updated, is getting ready for the official who already Totonoi One of the reasons
there are for that.
I think I will be just around the corner so already implemented in kRO.
Will be placed on the packet to come in the future HP itself MOB.
I think people who make something future, and should be designed with this point in mind. It is a story ... I mean, it's too late Fro / iRO / kRO, Fro Reaction & mehr: 01.04.2012 - RO Spot TV Folge 30 ttp :/ / http://Www.Youtube.Com/watch?V=XJnS7vUt5IQ New HP Mob Bar + Thanatos Tower F2-F3 (Sakray 03-28-2012) ttp :/ / http://Www.Youtube.Com/watch?V=ww7vuoN3l7k




There is a tool named SimpleROHook, it is like a mini RCX.
Link: http://lab.planetleaf.com/?p=385
(Use translator and the right of the webpage)

[/B][/U]


Old RCX information moved to 2nd post (Thanks Blueness!)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2013, 01:49:04 PM by Uyuni »
:monocle:
Uyuni 150/50Genetic:ssh:
Supremacy 128/25 Archbishop (New!)
Terra Chere 14x/xx Mechanic
Space Dementia 150/4x Royal Guard
Endlessly 125/2x Sura

Retired

Offline Lupus

  • You knocked my eye out.
  • Retired Staff
  • Hero Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1768
    • View Profile
    • http://www.redomo.net
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2009, 08:24:03 AM »
Heimdallr has said the same thing about RCX.  However, he may feel different about the newer version.

http://irowiki.org/~wk/Heimdallr.on.rocha.log

In case it isn't clear, RCX is the newest versions of RoCha.


old RCX info:

Please do not e-mail me, PM or any other contact method other than posting here requesting help with problems with RCX or how to use it.
We recommend using MSE as your antivirus to avoid false positives with RCX:  http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

IF YOU HAVE ANY ISSUE WITH RCX, PLEASE DO UPDATE BEFORE ASKING IN THE FORUMS.
-Make sure Ragnarok Online & RCX are not in "Program Files" Folder.

To install, follow these directions:
 
[SPOILER]
Quote from: Biochemist.SS;707060
1.-Download the latest version of RCX here : http://rcx.planetleaf.com/

If you are playing the classic server try downloading from this post.

2.-Unzip the folder
3.-Go to the folder "EnglishSettingFilePack" and copy all the files in it.
4.-Paste previous files RCX main folder (Default: RCX_OpenAlpha)
5.-Open RCX.EXE

Configuration file : RCX.INI
 
Notes: Currently some Antivirus detect threats, do not alarm is a false positive.
[/SPOILER]
 
How to use the Account Collector

[SPOILER]
First, in RCX.ini enable it, and set the path to that folder.

Code: [Select]
AccountCollector=1
AccountCollectorPath=D:\RCX44\AccountCollector
Then in that folder you specified, make a different save file for each account you need. The name you give these will not matter.

Code: [Select]
Acct1.ini
Acct2.ini
....
Then for each account, open the file, and this is all the coding you will need. DisplayName is what will show up in game to choose from

Code: [Select]
[AccountData]
DisplayName=Main Acct
Proority=1
AccountID=login
Password=pass
Now when you open RO, after you click past the warning, your list of available accts will be top right. Just press Alt+# to login.
[/SPOILER]

How to use RCX
[SPOILER]
Quote
What you want to do once you're ingame is hit ctrl+ 1 and that'll open your interface window; It looks just like a normal RO window and will even use your skin if you're using one. Just hit the "-" button to expand it and you'll see a bunch of features. Here's a little explanation of what they do:

GPS User : This will show the info of your character on either the left   side or right side of your screen. It will display your HP, SP,  Location  with Co-ordinates, and your name.
GPS User HP : Dual Client feature. This will allow you to see the HP and   SP of a character you're dual clienting as if you were in a party.
Log: Leave this off, it gets in the way.
PT, ALL, Dock: I'm honestly not sure what these do.
Mob Info: Tells RCX where you want monster info displayed when you're   attacking. I have it set at the right by the buffs, so It's set to   "Right"
Mob HP + EXP : I have this set to top, it's just a personal preference
Pet State: You would figure it would show your pet's hunger status or something. It doesn't seem to show anything though.
BBE: This shows the bowling bash grid, basically where the gutter lines are. I'd keep this off unless you're playing a knight
C9: This is a green line showing how far you can cast skills. It's quite   handy for casters. The numbers next to it is to control how opaque the   line is. I keep it at 1 when I use it.
M2E: This shows ground effects with /effects on (even without /effect   enabled) It's great for seeing where Wizard spells are along with safety   walls and other ground skills. I always leave this on. You can use  this  site -> http://www.productions.com.br/rcx/ to configure what colors and the opacity of your skills.
ST: Buff Timers
EXP/H Calc Reset: Resets your exp per hour timer
CPU Cooler : Releases some CPU strain on your computer by allowing RO to   use less. The higher the number, the more you will frame lag.
Opaque: When you have it on, if a piece of scenery covers your   character, it will turn transparent until it isn't covering your   character anymore. Great for foresty areas.
Ignore the Debug options, they're useless for players.                      

I hope you enjoy it :]
[/SPOILER]

I have a problem. What do I do?
[SPOILER]

Don't complain, provide the next information so the developer can actually help you:

1.- Explain your issue in detail.
2.- When did the issue appear?
3.- Provide the next information:
     Server (all non official servers will be ignored)
     RCX Version
     Operative System
     Ragnarok error code (if applicable)
     Screenshots (if applicable)
4.- What have you done to solve the issue?
5.- Any workaround?

If there is no answer to the issue, do not bump your question. The developer occasionally looks here I think.

To contact the developer directly, please go the official RCX page.

[/SPOILER]


Note: Version 0.46 (or highter) needs "'Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)" to work, again thanks to TwilightsCall  :)

Link to the download here: http://forums.irowiki.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=3263&stc=1&d=1279032282
OR http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?displaylang=en&FamilyID=a5c84275-3b97-4ab7-a40d-3802b2af5fc2


F.A.Q
[SPOILER]
How do we move my own buffs to the Left side of the RO client?
Quote from: Biochemist-ness;646051
In rcx.ini, search for [SkillTimerMode], there will be a bunch of skills all = to 0, change them all = to 1

Is there any way to only see my Buffs and no one else?

Quote from: Biochemist-ness;646051
In rcx.ini, search for NPC_CURSEATTACK, default setting for that is 0xf00f, change it to 0x1111, try changing every skill in that list (down to NJ_SUITON)... the ground skills might stop showing timers though, if you can recognize them, leave those with their original setting.

How do you go about getting this to work in kRO Renewal?
Quote from: Gimli;552304
You need to set
ROWindowClass=RagexeRE.exe   (or whatever is the executable file of your RO Client)
inside the RCX.ini for it to to work!
[/SPOILER]

How do I change the colours of the skills?
[SPOILER]Here is a web page that help you with the colours:  http://www.productions.com.br/rcx/ http://frankiehf.net84.net/index.php?option=com_wrapper&view=wrapper&Itemid=29
Take in mind it all your personal changes to the ini file will be removed, so my suggestion is to only do a copy paste of the colour change.

Here is an explanation of how RCX colours works

http://forums.irowiki.org/showthread.php?p=778590&highlight=change+color#post778590[/SPOILER]

How to add RCX to AVG exception list:
[SPOILER]
Quote from: TwilightsCall;613659
I'm using AVG aswell, but I managed to find a little work around to get it to run anyways :P I took pictures cause I was bored, so here you go!
 
Using AVG 8.5.whatever, this is what I did:
 
-Right click on the icon in the taskbar, click 'Open AVG User Interface'
[SPOILER][/SPOILER]
 
-In the 'Overview' tab, right-click on 'Resident Shield' and click Open.
[SPOILER][/SPOILER]
 
-Near the bottom of this window, click the 'Manage Exceptions' button.
[SPOILER][/SPOILER]
 
-On the right side, click 'Add Path.'
[SPOILER][/SPOILER]
 
-Select the directory your RCX exe file is in, click Ok, and you're good to go :)
[SPOILER]

[/SPOILER]

EDIT: Also, I found it unbelievably cool that the first shot shows the clock saying exactly 12:00. Just thought I'd mention that :P
[/SPOILER]


Old stuff
[SPOILER]

Renewal
[SPOILER]
Quote from: Lupus;939464
I made a thing

http://redomo.net/mobinfo/mobinfo_r.ini

Updated for Renewal, save and place in the RCX folder and overwrite the one already there (or rename it). Let me know if there are any inaccuracies I need to fix.
[/SPOILER]

How to fix Stable version 0.50
[SPOILER]
Quote from: tolken;976561
Important Note:

Stable client 50 was recently released, this version at the moment  REPLACES the Nightmare50 release.  A few important things about stable  50.

#1 It has a few new RCX.ini settings/options, DO NOT just mindlessly  copy of your previous RCX.ini settings.  It looks identical at first but  the option tags were finally changed over for the beginnings of renewal  support.  I'll go over how to update your ini file shortly.

#2 Stable 50 was released with an INCORRECT character Server IP for Valk.  If you play on valk you'll need to update it.


Tolken's "How to fix my $%*&ing RCX.INI File"

Step one:
[code
Open up your old RCX.ini file you wish to update and move to the following place:

;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
;
;  Options
;
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
[RoChaOption]



Step Two:
Beginning immediately after [RochaOption] paste in the following:



;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Renewal Client Supported
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
RenewalSystem=1

;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
; KnockBackFix (test)
; this option is try to avoid the displaced position of the object character.
; I do not know if it works well.;p
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
; 0:off 1:on
;KnockBackFix=1

; 0:off 1:on
; DeadCellVisible (test)
; CS and BBE
; marked cells that can not enter.
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
DeadCellVisible=0

;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
; Legacy Battle Mode
; Battle Mode reproduces the previous renewal client.
;
; battlemode <- [space bar] -> chatmode
; reduce errors by blocking the function of enter.
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
LegacyBattleMode=0

;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
; next window size
; size of the window the next time you start the RO client.
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//
;NextWindowSizeW=640
;NextWindowSizeH=480



Step Three
Now we need to correct the Valkary Char server.

Move to the end of the file, you should see

;//----------------------------------------------------------------------------
;
;  GPS servername and AccountCollector used datas.
;
; CharacterServerIP=ServerName
;
;----------------------------------------------------------------------------//

The following two entries are now incorrect and need to be deleted.  You  will likely NOT have both but one or the other depending on how old  your RCX is.

38.144.194.226=US_Valkyrie
128.241.92.226=US_Valkyrie

DELETE EITHER IF YOU SEE THEM and replace it with

128.241.92.98=US_Valkyrie


You are welcome,

Tolken

[/SPOILER]


[/SPOILER]
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 09:13:17 AM by Blueness »

Offline Dechant

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 744
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2009, 09:39:00 AM »
If you provide GMs with proof that you use RCX, then your account is in danger, yes. The program conflicts with the TOS.

Other companies didn't fight against such utilities in the past, they looked over them and decided if these are malicious tools or helping the players and making their game more enjoyable (approved 3rd party tools).

Offline Blueness

  • Sharklets
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7705
  • this is our time
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2009, 10:19:15 AM »
Basically unless you take a screenshot showing you use RCX/ROcha and send it into the GM's, that's the only way they can prove you use it. Otherwise there's no way to tell.
iRO Classic, iRO Ymir, iRO Loki, iRO Valkyrie, iRO Sakray Goodbye RO! | ropd | http://www.rainymood.com

breeg : if you ds fast enough it\'s kinda like having them exp tap shit for you

Doddler: I feel bad for anyone who came to classic RO actually wanting the classic experience.


Discord! https://discord.gg/qswvEPQ

Offline Atum

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5155
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 10:28:06 AM »
RCX/RoCha are not supported by the GM team nor do they encourage using it and wont do any advertising for it (since its a 3rd party program) but they wont ban you for using it as long as you use an unmodified/uncustomized version.

They banned me once for using RoCha (i accidentaly sent them a pic where RoCha was visible for some reason) but after explaining that its only for stuff like showing xp/h, bowlingbash grid or monster hp and so doesnt give any real advantage (botting/macroing is not possible with an unmodified version and i think it auto-deactivates stuff like BB grid and effects for area skills in pvp/woe zones) they unbanned me.

However this could vary from GM to GM, depending on how their opinion about RCX is, i could've been just lucky.

Although its a nice tool i wouldnt use it unless i really need the extra info it  provides (i only use it now to find out range of aoe skills and casttime on the renewal server) since it likes to crash alot, which can be pretty frustrating (especially when being in endless tower, sealed shrine or woe).

Offline bluefox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2009, 10:49:25 AM »
How about ROExt? The main link is on a pserver website, so I won't link it here - please Google it yourself. It's basically a better Mouse Freedom, and it can be used to change your in-game resolution or give you more hotkeys... would it be illegal as well?
yesmsg
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Offline Xellie

  • The Threader of Forums
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1276
    • View Profile
    • http://www.xellie.com
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2009, 10:57:33 AM »
Pretty sure that's a bad one, especially since it allows you to use international languages and characters, which people would see on the other side and it would scream CLIENT HACK to the rest of the server.
Quote from: Tolrin
the reason the server is all allied against us is that we repeatedly  turn down alliance requests since I don\'t feel there are enough guilds  on the server to support large alliances.

Last edited by Xellie; Today at 09:23 PM. Reason: teehee

Offline bluefox

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1052
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2009, 11:16:29 AM »
All of its options can be toggled, though (and the Unicode one is the most useless of them).
yesmsg
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Offline Dishonru

  • what
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2268
    • View Profile
    • http://ragial.com
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #8 on: September 16, 2009, 11:32:10 AM »
Is something allowed?

-Does it send anything to the server?
-Are you going to take a screenshot or talk about it in-game?
-Does it allow you to do something blatantly not legitimate?

If you answered to no to these questions there is no way to get caught.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2009, 11:32:35 AM by Dishonru »

Offline Doddler

  • The Oracle
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4628
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #9 on: September 16, 2009, 11:34:37 AM »
The GM's stance on such things is pretty relaxed.  From their standpoint, they can't really prosecute its usage unless you decide to send them pictures of it (and apparently even then they aren't so hard on it based on Atum's story).  Heim seemed to have less of an issue with the program because it is automatically disabled in WoE and PVP zones.  The groupie feature of RCX is very grey area and will probably get you banned though.

While its been a while since I heard their stance on it, its probably quite similar to their stance on G15 keyboard macros... unless you're doing something extraordinary or doing stuff while not actively playing the game, they don't really care (and from their perspective, there's no way they could really find out).

I'm amused that on the RCX page the main advertised feature is the auto-blocking of spam bots.  I wouldn't be surprised if most people use it for that feature.

Offline Biochemist-ness

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #10 on: September 16, 2009, 11:41:56 AM »
side question...

Has anyone gotten the auto-bot-screenshot feature to work anytime *recently* ? The newer UI's have taken the options out of the config panel, but the options are still in the .ini...
obligatory link

Offline ~viridia~

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2141
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #11 on: September 16, 2009, 12:53:20 PM »
If I have a shitty computer this is gonna lag the shit out of me isn't it?

Offline Blueness

  • Sharklets
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7705
  • this is our time
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2009, 02:26:42 PM »
Quote
auto-blocking of spam bots

I have RCX running on slave machines just for this purpose ;)
iRO Classic, iRO Ymir, iRO Loki, iRO Valkyrie, iRO Sakray Goodbye RO! | ropd | http://www.rainymood.com

breeg : if you ds fast enough it\'s kinda like having them exp tap shit for you

Doddler: I feel bad for anyone who came to classic RO actually wanting the classic experience.


Discord! https://discord.gg/qswvEPQ

Offline tribe

  • Classic > Renewgay
  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2009, 03:05:45 PM »
buff bars on top of your head is what shits me about RCX
:facepalm:

Offline dharma

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1289
    • View Profile
Re: Is RCX illegal to use?
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2009, 03:33:14 PM »
Quote from: tribe;541297
buff bars on top of your head is what shits me about RCX
If it does show them in pvp(haven't tested) it would make armor switching super easy, and basicly make you a sinx killing god. :)
Also: cast delay is nice but I don't think it would be unfair unless it shows the asura delay after snap. :(
Dharma O\'Sack 10X/XX battle AB


Quote from: Nack~;827122
also, if you intend to be a real battle priest you need to start growing vagina teeth. sorry =D